158th European Study Group with Industry (ESGI)

Printer-friendly versionEnviar a un amigo

We are pleased to announce that the 158th European Study Group with Industry (ESGI) will be held at the Centre de Recerca Matemàtica, Barcelona, on the 27th-31st January 2020.

Information on the meeting can be found on the CRM website (www.crm.cat), see: http://www.crm.cat/2020/ESGI
and the poster can be found at http://www.crm.cat/en/Activities/Curs_2019-2020/Documents/ESGI158DefPoster.pdf .

ESGIs are week-long problem solving workshops which provide a unique opportunity for industrial scientists to work alongside academic mathematicians on problems of direct industrial relevance. The ESGIs first started in Oxford in 1968, there are now 5-7 meetings held annually in different European countries as well as many others throughout the world. They are an internationally recognised method of technology transfer between academic mathematicians and industry. Further information on study groups in general (their format, benefits, goals etc) may be found on the website of the European Consortium for Mathematics in Industry, https://ecmiindmath.org/study-groups/, or at the Math in Industry website: http://www.maths-in-industry.org/. These also provide links to the problem reports from a large number of study groups.

At the meeting in Barcelona we expect to work on 3-4 problems, employing the expertise of 20-30 academics.

For any enquiries please contact a member of the organising committee listed below. A link to the registration can be found at http://www.crm.cat/2020/ESGI

 

Organising Committee
Tim Myers (Centre de Recerca Matemàtica, tmyers@crm.cat)
Joan Solà-Morales (Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya, 
jc.sola-morales@upc.edu)
Maria Aguareles (Universitat de Girona, 
maria.aguareles@udg.edu)
Marta Pellicer (Universitat de Girona, 
marta.pellicer@udg.edu)
Francesc Font (Centre de Recerca Matemàtica, ffont@crm.cat)

Scientific Committee
Tim Myers (Centre de Recerca Matemàtica, 
tmyers@crm.cat)
Ernest Benedito (Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya, 
ernest.benedito@upc.edu)
Arnau Dòria (Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya, 
arnau.doria@upc.edu)
Àlex Haro (Universitat de Barcelona, 
alex@maia.ub.es)
Antonio Rodríguez-Ferran (Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya, 
antonio.rodriguez-ferran@upc.edu)
Isabel Serra (Centre de Recerca Matemàtica, 
iserra@crm.cat)

Date: 
27/01/2020 - 31/01/2020
Place: 

Barcelona

Organizer: 

CRM